Airdance congratulates Joanne Cabrega for winning Airdance Idol 7, an inter-company solo dance competition, with her piece "Untitled". Carlos Deriada Jr.'s "Sideline" and Melvin Apostol's "Scavenger" won 2nd and 3rd place respectively with very close scores.


The competition, held during Airdance's Christmas Party last December 9, 2010, at Dance Forum Space, 36E West Ave., Quezon City, was judged by an esteemed panel of judges, namely Prof. Steve "Basilio" Villaruz (UP College of Music, Artistic Director Emeritus - UP Dance Co., Dance Historian and Critic), Myra Beltran (Artistic Director - Dance Forum), Raul Alcoseba (Artistic Director - Chameleon Dance Theater) and Novy Bereber (Choreographer). Intermission numbers were also performed by Vinia Pamplona Peralta, Erick Somoza Arenas, Fred, Joseph Guzman, Rhosam Prudenciado Jr., and Joevenelle Mallorca.




The annual Airdance Idol competition is a choreographic and performance laboratory that has served as a platform and staging ground for bigger competitions and festivals here and abroad. Airdance Idol 6 contestants Alfred Mercado and Joseph Guzman won 1st and 3rd place respectively during the WiFi Body 5 (2010) New Choreographer's Competition. Airdance Idol 4 (2007) contestant Rhosam Prudenciado Jr. won 2nd place in the WiFi Body 4 (2009) New Choreographer's Competition and the Grand Prize in the Yokohama Dance Collection R 2009 held in Yokohama, Japan. Airdance Idol 4 (2007) winner Mia Cabalfin was able to earn a month-long Contemporary Dance residency during the Impulstanz International Dance Festival in Vienna, Austria. Airdance Idol 3 (2006) winner Ava Maureen Villanueva eventually won 1st place in the WiFi Body 2 (2007) New Choreographers' Competition and participated in the Pointe to Point, 4th  Asia-Europe Dance Forum held at Warsaw, Poland as well as a dance workshop residency in Japan.


Here is a list of Airdance Idol winners:


Airdance Idol 7 (2010)

1st: Joanne Cabrega - "Untitled"

2nd: Carlos Deriada Jr. - "Sideline"

3rd: Melvin Apostol - "Scavenger"


Airdance Idol 6 (2009)

1st: Joseph Guzman - "Damit"

2nd: Delphine Buencamino

3rd: Melvin Apostol -


Airdance Idol 5 (2008)

1st: Marielle Alonzo - "Escape"

2nd: Clarissa Miajres

3rd: Carlos Deriada Jr. - "Obstacle"


Airdance Idol 4 (2007)

1st: Mia Cabalfin

2nd: Johnny Amar - "Goodbye My Lover"

3rd: John Philip Martir - "Thermometer"


Airdance Idol 3 (2006)

1st: Ava Maureen Villanueva - "In Side"

2nd: Victor Sy - "Beautiful Boxer"

3rd: Rhosam Prudenciado Jr. - "Impossible"


Airdance Idol 2 (2005)

1st: Jethro Pioquinto - "Tampisaw"




Airdance Idol 1 (2004)

1st: Nordic Caraig - "Let Me Fall"

2nd: Reagan Cornelio